Hallabolou & You

Fun for you and your Family.

It’s a Boo-tacular Time of Year

on October 12, 2012

  With the mad rush of getting the kids back to school, it’s time to turn to some great fall activities.  I love fall!  The changing of the leaves, the smell of fireplaces when I am out for a walk.  Although I will miss my flip flops, it’s time to pull out my boots for hiking and, if the kids are lucky, for snow.

One of my favorite fall activities is taking my kids to Cox Farms.  I have been going for over 15 years as a teacher, but for the last several years I have been fortunate to just take my children with me.  Nothing says fall like sipping on cider and contemplating what pumpkin to bring home.  This year the debate is whether to carve the pumpkin or paint it.  I have found some great websites for both, but we haven’t come to a consensus yet.  Stencils, painting, or sculpting.

With the arrival of fall starts the countdown for Halloween.  In my house this is a much anticipated event as we turn our garage into a haunted house.  We do have an alternative for the little ones so we don’t scare them too much.  If you are looking for some places to take your kids for trick or treating, try your local mall or even better go visit Clifton, VA.  They close down parts of the streets so the kids can safely cross the roads.  If your kids are older and your feeling brave, try Busch Gardens at night.  This is not for the younger set.  Many attend in pretty gruesome costumes.

Have your kids decided what they are going to be this year?  My oldest is going to be a zombie hunter (as we have zombies in our haunted house) and my youngest is going to be King Pig of Bad Piggies (Angry Birds).  If you need some last minute costumes I found a few sites and all it needs is a visit to target, walmart or the dollar store.  If your pretty handy you can always make your own costume. Homemade costumes are my favorites but it can be hard to get the kids to ignore the store bought ones.

Here are some great trick or treat safety ideas.


Leave a Reply

